Napier Courier - 2021-06-09


Hawke’s Bay surf life saving Award of Excellence winners announced


The best and bravest volunteers, athletes and surf lifeguards were honoured at Surf Life Saving NZ’s (SLSNZ) Hawke’s Bay Awards of Excellence last weekend. Hawke’s Bay club support officer Debbie Moodie says the awards recognise the members who have made major contributions to surf life saving in Hawke’s Bay. “There are a number of people in each club that contribute to this success but we can only recognise a few. Many have put in long hours to achieve success.” Overall, the lifeguards completed 17 rescues, 42 assists, 36 first aid incidents and 28, 950 people were involved in 4912 preventative actions. This season’s Volunteer of the Year went to Napier’s Jacob Crawley for his commitment to the Surf Life Saving New Zealand movement. Jacob was praised for his humility, integrity, reliability and resilience and commended on his service to many others within the Hawke’s Bay region. “His dedication is the epitome of ‘In it For Life’ — when action is required in a voluntary capacity, Jacob is one of the first to put his hand up, both at a club and district level,” Debbie says. Surf Life Saving NZ Awards of Excellence are held every year in each SLSNZ region to recognise and celebrate the many club members putting in considerable time, effort and skills at a grass-roots level to make sure Kiwis who head to the beach get home safe. Hawke’s Bay Awards of Excellence 2020 winners Lifeguard of the Year— Helen Jackson, Ocean Beach Kiwi Instructor of the Year— Biance Sanko, Waimarama Coach of the Year— Liam Bowden, Westshore Most Outstanding Beach Athlete, Male— Corban Watson, Ocean Beach Kiwi Most Outstanding Beach Athlete, Female— Charlotte Swayn, Westshore Sportsperson of the Year— Bella Bassett-Foss, Waimarama Sports Team of the Year— Waimarama U23 Male IRB Team Masters Sportsperson of the Year— Alistair Hunter, Waimarama Masters Sports Team of the Year— OBK Masters Hombre Male Boat Crew Legend Ironman— Jonty Lever, Waimarama Legend Iron woman— Bella Bassett-Foss, Waimarama Most Improved Athlete (Hume Cup) — Harriet Lynch, Westshore Surf Official of the Year— Sarnia Brewer, Westshore Outstanding Contribution to Junior Surf— Neil Galland, Westshore Outstanding Sportsmanship Junior Surf— Lucy Angland, Waimarama Outstanding Contribution to Powercraft— Taylor Dick, Westshore Volunteer of the Year— Jacob Crawley, Ocean Beach Kiwi


© PressReader. All rights reserved.